A RAISIN IN THE SUN at PlayMaker's Repertory Company

posted by PlayMakersRep

When:

7:30 PM - 11:59 PM
Saturday, January 26
7:30 PM
Tuesday, January 29
7:30 PM
Thursday, January 31
2:00 PM
Saturday, February 2
2:00 PM
Sunday, February 3
7:30 PM
Tuesday, February 5
7:30 PM
Wednesday, February 6
7:30 PM
Thursday, February 7
7:30 PM
Friday, February 8
7:30 PM
Saturday, February 9
2:00 PM
Saturday, February 9
7:30 PM
Wednesday, February 13
7:30 PM
Friday, February 15
7:30 PM
Saturday, February 16
2:00 PM
Sunday, February 17
7:30 PM
Tuesday, February 19
2:00 PM
Saturday, February 23
7:30 PM
Wednesday, February 27
2:00 PM
Saturday, March 2

Where:

Center for Dramatic Art at UNC, 250 Country Club Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Description:

Debuting in 1959 and nominated for multiple Tony Awards, A Raisin in the Sun was the first play written by a black woman to be produced on Broadway, The New York Times proclaimed that it “changed American theater forever.”

In this groundbreaking drama proceeds from a life insurance policy give the Younger family hope for a better life. Can their “dreams deferred” be realized by moving into a home in an all-white neighborhood when they are confronted with conflicting desires within the family and racial prejudice outside their door?

“a tough and truthful drama” – Time Magazine

 A Raisin in the Sun will be performed in rotating rep with Bruce Norris' Clybourne Park.

Details:

$15.00 -$55.00
9199627529
<script type="text/javascript"> var showTynt = (("ht" + "tp:") == document.location.protocol); if (showTynt) { var tyntVariables = {"ap":"#{_('Read more: ')}"}; document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='ht" + "tp://tcr.tynt.com/javascripts/Tracer.js?user=d56qUQzfGr34Onadbi-bpO&amp;su=0&amp;st=1' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E")); } </script>