Teachers of Year announced for Cherokee County Schools District
by Michelle Babcock
September 18, 2013 12:35 AM | 3855 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Teacher of the Year awards were announced for each school in the Cherokee Schools District Thursday, and those teachers are now in the running to be the districtwide 2014 Teacher of the Year, which will be decided by a panel of community leaders.

Forty teachers were honored as teachers of the year, and will be recognized at a banquet in their honor Dec. 12 at the Northside Hospital-Cherokee Conference Center in Canton.

Each school’s winner will complete an application for the district-level award between now and October, and the winner, chosen by community leaders, will be notified by a surprise presentation in his or her classroom by the superintendent of schools in November.

The District Teacher of the Year and all school-level winners will be honored at the December banquet. The banquet and gifts that will be presented to teachers are funded by local businesses.

The districtwide Teacher of the Year will compete for the title of Georgia Teacher of the Year.

Cherokee County School District 2014 Teacher of the Year nominees are, alphabetically, from schools starting with A through C: from ACE Academy, Rebekah Welch; Arnold Mill Elementary School, Ines Haas; Avery Elementary School, Amy Means; Ball Ground Elementary School, Amy Howell; Bascomb Elementary School, Nettie Mosteller; Boston Elementary School, Debbie Ritter; Canton Elementary School, Judy Wright; Carmel Elementary School, Julie Dutko; Cherokee High School, Michael Zoeckler; Clark Creek Elementary School, Kathryn Smerker; Clayton Elementary School, Karen Vernor; Creekland Middle School, Lindsay Bowley; and from Creekview High School, James Holly.

Winners from schools starting with D through K are: from Dean Rusk Middle School, Deborah Lanter; E.T. Booth Middle School, Susan Okerblad; Etowah High School, Rebecca Schwartz; Freedom Middle School, Melissa Christensen; Free Home Elementary School, Carry Holland; Hasty Elementary School, Elizabeth Wall; Hickory Flat Elementary School, Nancy Hunter; Holly Springs Elementary School, Cindy Conley; Indian Knoll Elementary School, Dana Martineau; Johnston Elementary School, Kathy King; and from Knox Elementary School, Janet Marotte.

Winners from schools starting with L through W are: from Liberty Elementary School, Lauren Roach; Little River Elementary School, Gina Cain; L.R. Tippens Education Center, Susan Jones; Macedonia Elementary School, Nancy Baker; Mill Creek Middle School, Phyllis Ailes; Mountain Road Elementary School, Cindy Deane; Oak Grove Elementary School, Ardis Lussier; Ralph Bunche/Little River Preschool, Jennifer Fowler; River Ridge High School, Laura Moore; R.M. Moore Elementary School, Beth Allison; Sequoyah High School, Andy Kohler; Sixes Elementary School, Mary Alice Gresch; Teasley Middle School, Lee Banks; Woodstock Elementary School, Rachel Wasserman; Woodstock High School, Andy Hall; and from Woodstock Middle School, Lindsay Roga.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides