Cobb EMC directors elect officers
by Kim Isaza
March 01, 2012 12:01 AM | 1632 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
MARIETTA — Cobb EMC directors elected their officers during Tuesday’s monthly board meeting. Ed Crowell is now the chairman, David Tennant is now the vice chairman, and Cheryl Meadows is the new secretary-treasurer.

All three of the new officers were elected as directors in November. Cobb EMC’s members will gather again on March 31 to elect six new directors to the board.

Crowell, Tennant and Meadows were all unanimously elected to their officer posts on Tuesday, and they will serve as officers until the Sept. 15 annual meeting of members, when all 10 directors will then elect officers to serve for 12 months, according to the electric cooperative’s bylaws.

The location of that meeting has not been determined, and at this moment, it doesn’t appear there will be anything for members to vote on in September.

Tuesday was the last meeting for director Larry Chadwick, who had been the board chairman since 1988.

“Come March, all the outgoing directors are done, and some of it was precipitated by Mr. Chadwick being done this month,” Crowell said of the officer elections. “It made the most sense to be done with it and ensure some continuity through the summer.”

Also new this week, minutes of the January board of directors meeting have been posted on the utility’s website for members who have registered for online account access to see. Click on “company reports” in the bottom left corner of the home page.

To register for online access, members must enter their account numbers and Social Security number.

Glynda Thor, Cobb EMC’s manager of corporate and marketing communications, said the Social Security number is needed to properly identify who is attempting to register.

“That information is in your account from the time you first applied for electricity, and so to maintain top security around your account, you enter the social to authenticate that you are indeed the account holder,” Thor said. “Every other time you come back, you will only be asked for your user name and password.”

Cobb EMC provides electricity to more than 171,000 residential and commercial customers in Cobb, Bartow, Cherokee, Fulton, and Paulding counties in metro Atlanta, and Randolph, Calhoun, Quitman and Clay counties in southwest Georgia.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides