Georgia House, Senate election qualifying ends
by Erin Dentmon
December 13, 2012 12:41 AM | 3670 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The race for state House District 21 was crowded as qualifying ended Wednesday and another candidate threw his hat in the ring for the Jan. 8 special election.

Kenneth Mimbs, a Republican, qualified to run with the Secretary of State on the final day of qualifying. He will run against Republicans Bill Fincher, Brian Laurens and Scot Turner and Democrat Natalie Bergeron.

Independent Eduardo Correia qualified Tuesday to run, but officials say he does not reside in the district.

Brandon Beach, a Republican from Alpharetta, will face off against Rep. Sean Jerguson (R-Holly Springs) in the race to represent state Senate District 21.

Chip Rogers (R-Woodstock) resigned from the Senate seat Dec. 4. Jerguson, re-elected to his House seat in July, resigned from that office to run for the Senate seat.

The special election is to fill both offices and early voting begins Monday.

Cherokee County Elections Supervisor Janet Munda said the special election should cost about $30,000 in Cherokee County.

“That’s for printing of the ballots, overtime pay for our staff, any extra help we need to bring on. It’s the operational functions of running an election,” Munda said.

Friday is the last day to register to vote in the special election.

Early voting begins Monday at the Cherokee County Elections Office on East Main Street in Canton.

The office will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. the following days for early voting: Dec. 17-21, Dec. 27-28, Jan. 31 and Jan. 2-4.

On Jan. 8, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters must report to their assigned precincts to vote.

The election includes voters in the following precincts: Air Acres, Arnold Mill, Avery, Ball Ground, Bascomb, Booth, Bradshaw, Bridgemill, Conns Creek, Deer Run, Free Home, Hickory Flat, Hightower, Hillside, Holly Springs, Liberty, Little River, Macedonia, Mountain Road, Neese, Rose Creek, Sixes, Teasley, Toonigh, Union Hill, Univeter, Wildcat, Woodlands and Woodstock.

Munda said not all voters in the above precincts will vote in the election, since some precincts include more than one Senate or House district. Some voters will vote in both elections.

Voters should check their registration cards, call the county elections office at (770) 479-0407, or visit the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page at for information about voting eligibility.

If needed, a runoff for the House seat will be Feb. 5.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides