Early voter turnout light in local special elections
by Erin Dentmon
December 28, 2012 12:00 AM | 2640 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
CANTON — Voter turnout in a special election to fill two legislative seats continued to be light during the week between Christmas and New Year’s Day.

As of Thursday afternoon, 371 people have voted in person in the special election for state House District 21 and Senate District 21, according to Cherokee County Elections Supervisor Janet Munda.

As of 3:30 p.m., 60 people had voted Thursday at the elections office, Munda said.

The elections office has received 513 ballots by mail.

The elections office will be closed New Year’s Day.

With the exception of Jan. 1, the elections office, located on East Main Street in Canton, will be open for early voting weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. through Jan. 4.

The special election will take place Jan. 8. No voting will take place Jan. 7.

Voters must vote in their assigned precincts on Jan. 8.

Voters within the following precincts may be eligible to cast ballots:

Air Acres, Arnold Mill, Avery, Ball Ground, Bascomb, Booth, Bradshaw, Bridgemill, Conns Creek, Deer Run, Freehome, Hickory Flat, Hightower, Hillside, Holly Springs, Liberty, Little River, Macedonia, Mountain Road, Neese, Rosecreek, Sixes, Teasley, Toonigh, Union Hill, Univeter, Wildcat, Woodlands and Woodstock.

Anyone voting on Jan. 8 must vote at his assigned precinct. Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Not all voters within these precincts are eligible to vote in the special election, since some precincts include voters in multiple districts. Some voters are eligible to vote in both races, and some are eligible to vote in one race.

Voters should check their registration cards, call the county elections office at (770) 479-0407, or visit the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page at mvp.sos.state.ga.us for information about voting eligibility.

Sen. Chip Rogers (R-Woodstock) resigned the District 21 Senate seat in early December. Rep. Sean Jerguson (R-Holly Springs), elected to another term in the state House, resigned his elected term to run for the Senate seat. He faces Republican Brandon Beach of Alpharetta in the Senate race.

Republicans Kenneth Mimbs, Scot Turner and Brian Laurens and Democrat Natalie Bergeron, all of Cherokee County, are vying for the House seat.

If needed, a runoff for the House seat will be held Feb. 5.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides