Early voting for Georgia primaries starts Monday
by Joshua Sharpe
April 27, 2014 04:00 AM | 3399 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
CANTON — Voters can cast their ballots in the May 20 primary for contested seats all around Cherokee County starting Monday.

Running from Monday at 8:30 a.m., early voting will continue until May 16.

With quite a few contested local races and a wealth of statewide seats up for grabs, Cherokee elections supervisor Janet Munda is expecting about 30 percent of the county’s voters to turn out.

“Once the ‘Vote Here’ signs go up on Monday the local voters will stop in to vote,” Munda said Friday.

Munda said she anticipated early voting to get off to a slow start in the next two weeks, but to pick up as Election Day approaches.

“I am expecting a mild flow for the first two weeks,” she said. “The week prior more voters will be ready to cast their ballot, and that is why we have additional locations open to accommodate the voters in Cherokee County.”

The first two weeks of early voting are Monday to May 2 and May 5 to May 9 and will take place at one location only, the Cherokee Elections Office in downtown Canton.

Times are from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. The elections office is at 400 E. Main St.

Voters will have one Saturday when they can cast their votes, May 10 from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Advance voting is the week of May 12 to 16, from 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Locations for Saturday and sdvance voting are:

• Cherokee County Elections Office — 400 E. Main St., Canton;

• Ball Ground Public Library — 435 Old Canton Rd., Ball Ground;

• Hickory Flat Public Library — 2740 East Cherokee Dr., Canton;

• Woodstock Public Library — 7735 Main St., Woodstock; and

• Rose Creek Public Library — 4476 Towne Lake Pkwy., Woodstock

Election Day on May 20 all county precincts will be open for voting from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters must vote at their assigned precinct on Election Day.

A photo ID is required to vote at all locations.

For more information, call the Cherokee Elections Office at (770) 479-0407 or visit the website at vote.cherokeega.com.

— Rebecca Johnston contributed to this article.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides